Separation Value-Added Services

Insurance101

I'm just getting into group health insurance, for it's been difficult to separate myself from other agents in the area. Same carriers same
price. :( What else in terms of value-added services can I offer prospective clients, to help rise above the noise?

Group health can be a tough market to break in to. It can take you months to get a decision, then another 2 months before you get paid.

You need to have some capital to float you.

Like the rest of our business, many decisions are based on rate. Consumers are stupid and will buy anything that looks good. Agents are equally stupid, and lazy, and will show the low rate and forget to tell the consumer that those rates mean nothing until underwriting gets a chance to review.

What consumers want in their group health plan is high benefit and low premiums.

What agents want is low premiums & high commissions.

This results in a perfect storm with no one being happy.

Depending on the size group you are working, you may be able to talk about alternate funding such as fully insured minimum premium plans, premium lags or even partial self funding.

With smaller groups you can talk about split funding the case where the employer pays for a high deductible plan while the employee funds the HSA or buys a mini-med to cover routine items. You can also talk to the employer about management carve-outs and maybe even creating a rank & file plan funded with individual policies on payroll deduction.

You can also use Gap plans such as this to further distinguish yourself.