Setting Up an Agency

///MJay

Expert
Hello,

There is so much great info on the site thank you to every one for all the great insights to this business. I have a quick question. I work for a life company that I am a captive agent for. This company also has an agency and brokerage that we sell other carriers products (they get a cut too). For life production I am a w-2, for agency 1099. My question is could I set up my own company or agency and take full advantage of the 1099 side of things? When setting up such a venture what are some good resources to use? Would an LLC work? Those are the types of things I am wondering.

Thanks in advance

Jason

Hello,

There is so much great info on the site thank you to every one for all the great insights to this business. I have a quick question. I work for a life company that I am a captive agent for. This company also has an agency and brokerage that we sell other carriers products (they get a cut too). For life production I am a w-2, for agency 1099. My question is could I set up my own company or agency and take full advantage of the 1099 side of things? When setting up such a venture what are some good resources to use? Would an LLC work? Those are the types of things I am wondering.

Thanks in advance

Jason

I think someone else on here had the exact same situation you did.