Should I switch to another IMO?

Lou Mann

I’ve been doing in-home sales for several years with less than a year in the final expense/mortgage protection insurance industry. The IMO I work with is saturated in my market and I get very few fresh leads within 2 hours of my home. They are focused on recruiting to reach the best contract rates. I figure I have about 3 years left before I retire, and building an agency is not a goal of mine.

I’m not a sales superstar, but I’m consistent, and I care about the client. My close rate is over 50% with 85% net placed. Should I be looking for an IMO with higher initial contract levels or just stick it out? Any advice?

I’ve been doing in-home sales for several years with less than a year in the final expense/mortgage protection insurance industry. The IMO I work with is saturated in my market and I get very few fresh leads within 2 hours of my home. They are focused on recruiting to reach the best contract rates. I figure I have about 3 years left before I retire, and building an agency is not a goal of mine.

I’m not a sales superstar, but I’m consistent, and I care about the client. My close rate is over 50% with 85% net placed. Should I be looking for an IMO with higher initial contract levels or just stick it out? Any advice?

One of the main things an IMO needs to have for them to be a good fit for you and you to them is a direct mail lead territory open. It’s the #1 reason that I turn agents away. If I already have a good agent in the area you want, then I tell you that we aren’t going to be a good place for you. If your IMO is not doing the same and just piling agents on top of agents then yes I would move on. And you should never be with an IMO that requires you to recruit to reach normal commission levels (See the FexContracting.com website to review agent commission levels).