Solicitation in Doctor Offices for MAPD

maniacagent

Guru
100+ Post Club
I was in a doctor office today.....technically, I was in the waiting room. I was waiting in line for the secretary and to my right was a closed circuit TV. The non-stop advertisement was for HUMANA Medicare Advantage plans.

It occurred to me that someone is getting paid somewhere to allow this "advertising" inside a hospital complex. This was not just a silent picture on the TV screen, but full volume advertisng describing how you could buy this from HUMANA.

The dollar signs ran before my eyes. I stood in line and I could not solicit the people around me for MAPD as I am an agent regulated by CMS. However here's HUMANA blaring to the same
patients with HUMANA literature right there to sign up.

Who is paying who on this? Why can HUMANA blast a closed circuit TV screen to patients in a doctor office INSIDE A HOSPITAL COMPLEX, MIND YOU....but I, a lowly insurance agent cannot say a word?

We are a communist society, folks. A voice on TV can sell MAPD to the guy in front of you in the doc's office, but YOU CAN'T SAY A WORD to the same guy as a licensed agent. What have I missed? Is a waiting room a "common area" or not? What's the deal?

i damn sure can and would..... even if i WAS selling MA plans i would pop off with my cell phone to my ear that i sold MA;s and provide service and this clown on tv is stupid... i would also say if they wanted to purchase to call me... again all into the answering macine of my cell phone

These CC Tv's rent space on the Dr's office wall. Not sure how much they pay the offc, but it is a sizable sum... and also they can tune that TV into basketball games when the office is empty... (that may be an exageration, not sure).