Some Tips on Learning the Medical Underwriting of Each Company.

RookieYankee

Guru
100+ Post Club
I am studying the underwritinf to Cigna, Mutual of Omaha, Aetna, Manhattan Life etc. basically I wanted to ask what are some ways you all figured out how to place your clients with dealing with these companies. I know of course time in the field but some tips could go a long way. Since my cold calling skills are so poor I can't place many people in policies, so what were some ways you all learned the underwriting guides? Did you simply read it daily? work with one carrier at first?

One last question: Would you worry more about the medication since that could tell you they have exactly?

Thank you in advance for your advices and tips.

Last edited:
I am studying the underwritinf to Cigna, Mutual of Omaha, Aetna, Manhattan Life etc. basically I wanted to ask what are some ways you all figured out how to place your clients with dealing with these companies. I know of course time in the field but some tips could go a long way. Since my cold calling skills are so poor I can't place many people in policies, so what were some ways you all learned the underwriting guides? Did you simply read it daily? work with one carrier at first?

Thank you in advance for your advices and tips.

You have to read the health questions, obviously. Being in the field and asking the health questions...then you find out they don't qualify, so you pivot to the next company. They all underwrite differently.

Agents are always posting cases on here and asking what company will take this case. When you see this, see how fast you can find a company they qualify for(if they can qualify) and post it. It's good practice and has helped me learn(still learning) apps in Final Expense. You also need to look up drugs on the knockout lists. It takes practice.

For example, after a while you'll know that if you have someone who's too short for their weight...you use Aetna, because they don't use height/weight.