Soooo....I Thought this Would Be Easier Than It Is.

Advisor06

Guru
100+ Post Club
Hi all...

I recently passed my P&C license in NJ to focus on commercial lines business. Mostly focusing on contractors that have multiple trucks. I have been working in the life and annuity side for the last 11 years and thought it would be a nice and easy transition to add to my business. I figured that business owners would be open to discussing cost savings opportunities by shopping their current policies...to my surprise it seems like no one will let me in. Most excuses I receive are "I have been with my agent for years" "I don't shop it out", etc., etc.

I guess I really thought it would be easier than it is. I make anywhere from 40-60 cold calls per day and I am coming up flat for appointments.

Any suggestions or thoughts?

go out and introduce yourself to business owners. its easier to get by the gate keeper in person.

I agree. I did try that for a few places and even though they still were not interested they were slightly more open to a conversation. My trouble is that I am a used to selling life which is a slightly quicker close.

Not sure what you mean. I get alot of people who say they receive alot of cold calls each day to switch their coverage. I am unsure on how I can start to gain some business or even potential opportunities.

People generally do not change insurance unless there is some pain. If they have been with the same agent for a long time, it will often take more than just premium savings to get them to switch.

As DHK said, you are selling pain killers, and these people are already numb to the pain.

Two thoughts...

ONE --- Are you calling off of a renewal list? Everyone gets the same timing on those and sometimes you are the 5th agent to cold call them.