Start Up Cost of an Independent Agency

Roenick27

Expert
Hi all,

I have been a captive agent for the past few years and worked at another captive agency. I was thinking about going indy .
I know it depends on rent, location etc, but what are some sample estimated costs of the operating system needed etc that you can expect to have when going independent?

Hi all, I have been a captive agent for the past few years and worked at another captive agency. I was thinking about going indy . I know it depends on rent, location etc, but what are some sample estimated costs of the operating system needed etc that you can expect to have when going independent?

A lot of factors, but here were my approx. Costs...

-office, $700 per month
- agency management system, $175 per month
- rater, $100 per month
- E&O, $1500 per year
- office phone, 75 per month
- efax, 10 per month
- Internet, 100 per month
- office eq. Desk, chairs, printer, scanner, computer, etc....2000
- business license, city business license, etc, 500
- stationary, business cards, letterheads, etc... 1000, got nice ones.

I'm sure I am missing others, but that's all can think of now.

A lot of factors, but here were my approx. Costs...

-office, $700 per month
- agency management system, $175 per month
- rater, $100 per month
- E&O, $1500 per year
- office phone, 75 per month
- efax, 10 per month
- Internet, 100 per month
- office eq. Desk, chairs, printer, scanner, computer, etc....2000
- business license, city business license, etc, 500
- stationary, business cards, letterheads, etc... 1000, got nice ones.

I'm sure I am missing others, but that's all can think of now.

This is a pretty solid low end estimate. Keep in mind this includes $0 marketing.

I would add-on another approximately $500 for agency website/email setup.