Starting an Independent Agency

Mark savant

Hello,

I have been managing a State Farm office in Florida for almost 10 years. I have decided I can no longer manage another book, but rather need to begin building my own. The idea of writing for many carriers is extremely appealing, so I am beginning the process of researching and developing a business plan for an independent agency.

It strikes me that the best option for a new agent without a book is to join a cluster. Having a direct contract with carriers would probably be optimal, however without an existing book and heavy volume requirements, might prove difficult for a new agent. Is this accurate?

Are there any clusters that I should be looking at? What is the best way to vet them? I'm assuming emailing / calling is a good starting point. I value owning my book, and would probably prefer to service my book as well. It seems that is the best way to differentiate myself and my staff. So far, I'm looking at groups like; InsureZone Direct, Pacific Crest, SIAA, SAN Florida. Any input on these groups, or suggestions of other groups to look at.

I'm also curious about the market as a whole. Do you find independent agencies to still be a viable model? How do technologies like Artificial Intelligence and automated motor vehicles impact the space?

Thanks for the input. It is all appreciated.

-Mark

If you wanted another IMO/NMO/FMO to look at you could give me a call.

I'll also give you a list of questions you could ask to make sure any red flags pop up. (of course, you can ask us these questions too).

Will you sign a pre-release agreement before I sign up with you? (answer should be yes)
How do releases work with your company? (answer to this should be we give you a release as long as you don't own any debt to insurance carriers)
What are your commission starting points?
Will I get copies of my commission schedules? (answer should be yes)