Starting off as an Independent Agent

Shmitty

Expert
Just passed my P&C licensing exam here in TX and now waiting on the approval of my license application. I'm looking to start off as an independent agent rather than captive. How do I go about that?

Having recently gone through the agency startup process up in CT.
It's not easy.
You will need a cluster/MGA
It is likely better for you to work for someone else.

It all comes down in your own needs and goals. As for going into an independent agent, you may tend to make a higher income, but at a higher risk. But if you'll go into a captive agent, your have more stability and support, but with stricter limitations.

Find a large independent agency. You can find them through trusted choice. Or IAOA. When you write through an independent agency, they will train you and help you build your book. When I was a captive agent, I found an independent agency. He was a multi million dollar agency. He allowed me to keep my office, have my own business name and keep my book of business. I get to quote from over 20 top companies P&C and Commercial and over 50 top Life companies. I only pay him 15% of my sales. He pays for my E&O, EZLYNX and my website quoter. The only thing I pay for is my office tent, and insurance for my business and any staff I hire. It's a very fair deal and I can sell as much or as little as I want. I really wish I would have started from the beginning with him. DON'T SELL FOR A CAPTIVE. Because if you ever choose to go independent, you will have to wait 1-2 years to get all your customers back into your book. With a captive, your clients, your relationship you built with them, all get to go into the company account and you lose or on all that hard work and have to start from scratch again. Going the independent route and through another big independent agent would be better for you in the long run.