Starting Out - All General Advice Appreciated!

DM112090

Hi all,

Firstly, thanks for creating a priceless resource. This seems to be a collection of high-quality professionals, and the tips I'm jotting down are great.

I've been a captive agent with NYL based out of one of its best offices in the country for about 3 months now, to mixed results. My lines are life, long-term care, and fixed annuities. I want to get registered soon and have the materials, but I'm so desperate to drum up business in the short-term that I can only study in the late hours of the night and early morning.

I've pretty much probed all my warm market, and have been relying on cold-calling to try and set appointments. I've probably made about 1,000 cold dials since I've started, but I haven't successfully booked a single appointment, which tells me that the problem is not cold calling, but my approach.

A little about me:

- I have a great phone voice, use a script that other agents seem to like a lot
- Whenever I meet with senior management or established agents, they all tell me "you are going to dominate this field", but I think they give me too much credit. I'm about 6'4", 285lbs, and apparently I wear a suit nicely, so I think they just see a young kid with energy and tell me that without really taking the time to see what I'm doing right or wrong
- I run a nice appointment, but that was only after some serious coaching from my boss on value proposition, not selling product but concepts, and how important it is to get the prospect involved in the design of a product as much as possible
- My referral talk is pretty good, but millennials are very hesitant to ever give me anyone's number, which sucks because they're my warmest group

What do I want? Tips. About cold calling in particular, but also anecdotes from your early days, etc. I always look at this forum after a long day as a refresher and reminder of why I do what I do.