Starting Scratch Independent In Texas...Cluster Suggestions Needed

rockclover

Hey All,

I have been a producer with a captive carrier for 20 years. I know, silly to not have done this many years ago. A recent layoff has given me the push that I needed. I am looking at different cluster options. Over the last 12 years, I have built up my referral network to consist of over 10 lender and 5 real estate referrals monthly. This allows me to average 38-50k in premium. I am smart enough to know that going on my own for carrier appointments will limit my clients options and therefore my income.

I prefer to do my own service work since that’s how I have always kept my retention above 87%. However, I would like a cluster to have the option of servicing the book once it gets too much for me to handle. It’s okat if it’s a great cluster without servicing as this can be fixed with a part time employee.

I really liked what Firefly has to offer and would appreciate any feedback anyone may have. The thing I don’t like, is the two year non compete and not owning your book. Commission is 75% on new business and renewals. However, I also have a 400 monthly fee which covers E&O and system access.

Any newer agents have advice on the best way to go in Texas?

Rock Clover,

How detailed did you get with the other 14?
Who what other clusters did you take the finish line with Firefly?
How did you whittle down the list of 14 to your final contestants?
What made Firefly stand out?
Where are you in TX?

please let me know what you find out. PM me please. Especially firefly whats so special about them. the book is not yours, the clients aren't yours its 75% commissions & what about their auto & home markets. whats so special