Starting to feel like the wild west and snake oil

Randy Foulds

Expert
I am new here...

I have been selling Med Sups in CA for about 10 years. took over agency from my mother who retired after 20 years. We do nothing but Med Sups, very few MAPD, and PDP. we also do IFP through Covered California, but we dont advertise that.

I dont have a question, just a comment. It is starting to feel like the wild west out here. I spend a lot of my time explaining to people the difference between Medigap and MAPD, then working on their behalf to disenroll them from a MAPD. in almost all cases, they enrolled in it without even knowing the difference. They often day, "the other agent didnt tell me that."

It seems unethical to not properly explain to a prospect exactly why they may not want an MAPD. Dont you think?

I am convinced a lot of agents don't understand what they are selling. That includes MAPD and PDP.

And they don't care.

No premium is an easy sale if you spin it right. Many go back and load the client up with add-on crap to fill in the "gaps" in MA plans. They can easily walk away with $1,000 or more in their pocket vs $300 selling Medigap.

So many carriers advertise DTC and make the MA plans seem wonderful.

And now CMS is joining the bandwagon and pushing MA plans as well.

Everyone, including my BIL, loves those plans until they have to use them. Then they grumble and want to get that Medicare supplement plan they refused when they turned 65.

Of course they can't.

It's a fact of life.

I write only Medigap. No MA plans. Used to pass along maybe half a dozen referrals per year to a friend that wrote the MA plans for me.

I don't think I have sent him a single referral in a couple of years.

Most of my new clients are T65. Most know they want a Medigap plan. A few are confused. We talk. They pick the Medigap.

Wrote two last week (husband and wife) and another two today. All T65. Most thought they wanted Medigap but wanted to know more about MA.

We talked.