State Farm agent vs. Independent agent job offer: please advice

insurance82

Expert
I have been working for state farm agent for almost 2 months and not really happy the way things are progressing so far. I have quote many people but sold 0 policy so far. SF rates are higher than other companies and no amount of convincing help to close the sale. I'm pretty new to insurance industry and feel lost in the sale process. There is no structure training. All I do is servicing clients and make cold calls to generate new sales. Sales Leads provided by agents seems very old. Previous 2 employees have worked on leads and he said they keep working on it every year. I hate making cold calls to same people again and again. Also as a foreign born i have accents which some people find annoying.

Few weeks ago I contacted a independent agent to help me sign up for health insurance thru market place and after knowing my background he shown interests in hiring me. He represents multiple companies for p&C, life, health and for commercial business. He did mention that my accents will be an issue for some people (originally I'm from India). He said I would be a good asset to to his firm targeting Indian community in our area plus he would train me on other things as well.

Can you guys advice me what should I do in this situation? I feel pretty depressed and let down the way things are going. If I make switch to independent agent, what things I should be careful in negotiation process? He's also willing to pay me base + commission + bonus.

If you are selling p&c, I would suggest you eventually make your way to independent commercial sales. Over the next 20 years personal home and auto will become (and is becoming) mostly commoditized and sold via phone and internet like Lemonade, Progressive, Esurance, Geico, Usaa, etc.