State Farm or Independent Brokerage Firm?

reneesita

I have interviewed with State Farm and an independent brokerage. They're both willing to pay me 3k a month base pay. State Farm is also going to be paying me commission-amount still to be determined. The brokerage doesn't want to pay commission until I'm fully trained but the boss is willing to revisit this in 6 months. Since I will be getting paid the same base either way, I am looking long term profitability. Thoughts? Does anyone know of other things I should consider? I'm fairly new to insurance....

I have interviewed with State Farm and an independent brokerage. They're both willing to pay me 3k a month base pay. State Farm is also going to be paying me commission-amount still to be determined. The brokerage doesn't want to pay commission until I'm fully trained but the boss is willing to revisit this in 6 months. Since I will be getting paid the same base either way, I am looking long term profitability. Thoughts? Does anyone know of other things I should consider? I'm fairly new to insurance....

You interviewed with an agent of SF or the company to apply for the candidate pool ( to own your own office)?

If the former, while each agt has their own comp structure they offer, the 3000 a month seems fair. Captive and Indy both have their pros and cons.

You have to view both jobs as the opportunity to be trained. Once you know what you are doing the sky is the limit because you can leave and potentially start your own business. My personal choice would be to probably give up the extra commission I could make at SF for the chance to gain a broader exposure and knowledge of the business, products, and companies. At SF you will deal with SF products for the most part and may be required to spread yourself thin on other financial products and services. At the independent you will probably have a chance to gain a great knowledge of P&C.