State Farm Or Independent!!!! Help Please!! last career move I hope

Independent or State Farm?

• State Farm

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

GetThaTComish

Hi so I am currently in a Franchise contract till June and im in the process of selling out early.I am also in a partner ship for this one location. We will be doing our own thing after the sale so I have really been thinking about state farm but I would also really like to go independent.

If I go Independent:
I can have many carriers. If the price changes from an up rate, I could always look for another company that would satisfy their needs.
I would like to learn commercial, life and health and try to build my book with that.
I have 7 yrs experience in P&C and do not know if I should just do all of these.
I have about 3-5 carriers that will give me appointments to start off but to offer more companies I would need to find a good agregator or cluster.
Marketing will be key.

If I go State Farm:

I will start out with a decent subsidy to get through the first couple years. I hear they also have a great training program. I would have an advantage on marketing due to them being around for years. But I am sure I would have to produce certain numbers and still be under corporate eye.

Either way I go I will need a great marketing plan along with a solid business plan.
Let me know any opinions or advice I thank you in advance

I'm not in P&C, but I'll respond to your post.

Figure out your marketing plan first, THEN find out which way would be better for you to go.

State Farm has a branding awareness advantage, not a "marketing" advantage. It'll still be up to you to figure out your marketing plan.

Keep in mind that State Farm is very protective of their brand, so their compliance department will be more strict than being an independent agent (obviously). Van Mueller talks about that in his training session to State Farm agents early last year.