STATE FARM STAFF TO AGENT OR START NEW WITH FARMERS

alphazjj

Hi Folks,

I've been working as state farm agent staff for almost 7 years. Now I got a chance to start a new career but I'm confused not sure which one is better for my situation.

1. from state farm staff to state farm agent and(maybe) a 1.5M assignment.

2. partner with farmers existing agent. start from new.

My location is LA, California. from my view, state farm's p&c at 2018 is very weak, high premium and limitation of policies scared a lot customers away. I cannot expect too much from 8% commission of 1.5M assignment minus utility & employee salary, plus those p&c and life apps requirement for the first year is gonna choke me.. Bright side is stable income, even for the starting year.

The other side, partner with farmers agent(who he also owns broker as well). I have more chances to do sales, build up my client. But shortcoming is obvious: only half renew commission, starting from cold calls/leads/business walk...

My current preference is second option, I know it's hard but caps is more satisfied if everything go smooth in 2-3 years. What do you think?

Search here and the net on Farmers as they are in bad shape right now and have never been a good choice. With your experience 100% go indi as suggested above.

According to 2016 NAIC report, State Farm was number 1 insurer in Ca, which means state farm is very competitive. why dont you start your own state farm agency or go for independent.

Indy all the way! I did 22 years as a captive. The first 10 were actually quite fun and learned a ton. But you will come to a point where the constant grind of the captives machine will wear you out, whether it be State Farms, Farmers, or for me American Family. Let alone the limitations of products.