State Farm to Independent Questions....

iaminsman

Expert
I have been working for a State Farm Agent for the past 10 years. I currently have my P&C, L&H and Series 6 in FL. I have wanted to go indy for a long time focusing on L&H. I have finally decided to take the plunge and signed up through Health Choice One based on the recommendations on this site. My boss, however, has been trying to tell me all the horror stories of how over 90% of people will fail in this business by going independent and he thinks that I should take the $25k salary + bonus' he gives and be happy to stay. I have a hard time believing that even in this "rotten economy" as he continue's to remind me, that it is possible to net $50k per year. Please give opinion's and let me know how everyone else feels. I am an above average sales person with a ton of drive- but he is making me second guess myself. Thanks

Yes, the failure rates are high however mainly due to:

1) Lack of a marketing plan
2) Lack of effort
3) Lacking a small business owner's mentality

There are other "x" factors however the success rate is high for people who are committed.

I am committed, especially due to 3 daughters and a wife. What are the other "x" factors besides committment?

If you're selling online one of the X factors would be your voice - some people are interesting to listen to, show confidence and conviction without arrogance and others simply have no phone presence. With no phone presence selling online is near impossible.

I am committed, especially due to 3 daughters and a wife. What are the other "x" factors besides committment?

In your case, it looks like they would be:

1) What are you going to do for income while you're ramping up? Nothing ever happens as fast as you would like it to.

2) Do you have some capital to invest in a marketing plan?