Strategy for Beginning A Career

I have twenty years sales experience. I have never given Insurance a try because the startup has never been finanically feasible for me. I require 80k plus just to make ends meet. That is a bare minimum.

At this point, I would like to form a relationship with a company that will guide me through the licensing process and provide me with the support I need to establish myself. This would initially have to be on a part time basis, for reasons cited above. I would have to start at ground zero in terms of licensing, product knowledge, etc. My preference would be to focus on life and annuity products. The objective would be to gradually transition into full time.

What would you do to establish yourself? Is it true that I must actually be affiliated with a company to begin the licensing process? Would you recommend that I consider specific companies?

I live in Florida.

Thank you for any assistance or advice you may be able to provide.

Last edited:
Not sure how Florida works specifically, but generally speaking, no need to be affiliated with any company while working on licensing. If you were planning to get a series 6 or 7 license, then yes. However, for life/health, you can begin preparing on your own. Plan to spend around $350 for study materials and to pass the exam the 1st time.

Your best bet will be to study on your own and pass the exam. Once that's done, you'll be more marketable to existing agencies/carriers. Good luck!

Thank you both. So I can go through the state agency and prepare for and take the life/health examinations. Will do.

Can you recommend some companies for me to look into; those with good reps and product lines and that are open to me working initially part time and on a flex schedule?

I have noted the recommendation to avoid MLM.

----------

Ok. I have signed up for the 60 hour online course from an approved provider.

Florida 2-15 Life, Health & Variable Annuity