Switching Careers: Police Work to Insurance?

Greetings all!

Stumbled across this website looking at information on switching job gears. I have no experience in the insurance industry but it has long intrigued me. A quick rundown on my situation:

Currently 6 years + in law enforcement as a police officer. Specialized in traffic crash investigation, DUI work, etc.

Prior to this was in inside sales for five years. Enjoyed the work and was a consistent top 3 producer (out of about 50 salespersons). always enjoyed the consulting side to my job there.

Left because law enforcement was something I always wanted to do, however after having done if, been through some things, seen a lot of things, and been to a few places with it, the "stability" and safety (also now with family) and getting out of shift work seems to be calling me. Having the luxury of time to look around and seeing the economy slowly stabilizing a bit, I'm contemplating getting into the field.

A few questions for you that can help:

1) Getting into a sales agent job, or do you think my background would be better to start in claims?
2) Is claims/appraising a good stepping stone into an agent?
3) I am also looking at aligning with a brand that will take the time to properly help and train new agents, rather than the see what sticks approach. Opinions welcome.
4) Typically speaking, how long does a newbie take to get to the point where you could start your own office, once you have worked inside an agent's office? (I know its kind of vague)

Thanks to everyone. I look forward to participating here.. site has a TON of good information so far.

1) Getting into a sales agent job, or do you think my background would be better to start in claims?
3) I am also looking at aligning with a brand that will take the time to properly help and train new agents, rather than the see what sticks approach. Opinions welcome.