The Next Step...

Ferman2011

Hello Everyone!

I am new to the forum and I hope to learn as much as possible for your experiences. I wanted to share with you all a little about me, I have reached a crossroad in my life and I would like as much info as possible before I take the next step.

I've been a licensed agent since 2006. I've worked with mostly independent brokers since I started so my experiences consists of working with Standard/Non-standard co's and clients.
I am P&C licensed in almost all states. I dont have my Life&Health license but am currently studying for it. Presently I am working for a huge Carrier as an agent in auto/renters in a call center. I have been there for about a year, Its ok but moving up the ladder there isn't something that I am willing to do. I know my potential, and ultimately I would want to use all of it for my own goals and dreams.
I was contacted by a Farmers agent/recruiter and was presented with an opp to become my own agent. From my past expirences, I have never dealt with commission, residual income, renewals, losses, etc. I've been a w2 employee and my biggest concern has been my paycheck. The recruiter informed me that Farmers is growing and look to double by 2020 in AZ. Prerequisites are that first i need my Life&Health License then from there I would need to go thru a trial or "tough love" as the agent put it. I would need 40 units consisting of auto/home/life before I can start to get a base pay + commission. My main concern is not knowing how they do business and the unknowns that lie ahead with this type of venture, I have a steady paycheck and steady bills that follow and unfortunately the savings aren't there to cover my monthly expenses while I start...