Thinking About Becoming a Farmers Captive Agent

GAsales

I'm weighing my options on leaving my role of a associate agent to become a owner with farmers. Had anyone worked with them? Pros? Cons?

TIA!

GASales,

I am a Farmers Agent in California, but a indpendent agent/broker in 20 non-resident states. I love being a Farmers Agent. I suggest purchasing an exisitng book from a retiring agent. Much easier process. Good luck!

By they way, Farmers is not like other captives. You are able to have outside appointments and broker business, that Farmers doesn't have appetite with, declines or non-renews. Farmers even owns it's own general agency, called Kraft Lake, which you broker that business too.

How much experience do you have? How much have you produced?

If you're going to leave your current agency you could do better going independent, if you have enough experience, and truly know how to produce. Do you currently generate your own leads?

If you must remain captive, look into Nationwide, if they are competitive in your area.

Currently looking at starting a scratch agency with Farmers in their Retail program. I recently obtained my P&C as well as my Life & Health license’s.

This would be a career change from being in the hospitality for the past 20 years in mid-level management positions. I started thinking about a career change in late February of this year, and with the pandemic events, I was able to conduct a personal inventory on what I wanted to do in the last part of my working career. I have talked to 3 companies - Allstate, State Farm and Farmers. To me and from what I have been able to discover is that Farmers checks all of the box’s for me.

The biggest hurdle, I see that I will encounter is the best way to market and prospect my business. I have read many articles and have talked to a few people about the do’s and don’t on the proper steps. I am not naive enough to know that it will take long hours and hard work to build a solid book.