Thinking About Starting an Indy from Home, Need Advice Please.

lifelearner

Hello all,

(this is going to be a long post, so I thank you in advance for reading, lol)

This is my very first post to any kind of furom. :S I have been combing this forum for the past month and I love it. There is so much information and everyone seems so helpful. I wish I knew about this forum when I started in insurance, I might have gone a different direction... :)

I have found some answers that help me with my questions, but nothing yet that actually helps me entirely.

Ok, here is my situation. I have been working in insurance for eight years now. My mother is a captive agent and my sister and I have been running the office for her. The majority of my experience is in P&C on the personal side(auto and home), but I have some experience with commercial auto and personal life.

My life is recently about to change, because I am getting married in two weeks and I am going back to school to finish my degree.

If I stay working with my mom, I would have to work set hours, be tied to the office desk, and be limited to the amount of money I can make.

So I am trying to consider my options. I can go to school part time either in the mornings or evenings, that wouldn't be a problem, and work during the other hours I have. So I would plan to put in a good 8 hours every day. My future wife is Brazilian and I would prefer working remotely so we can go back and forth to brazil to visit her family and I can continue to work. I think this would be possible because of all the new technology out there now a days.