Thoughts?

Nomadd917

I am currently an underwriter for a super regional carrier that uses the independent agency mod. I have been underwriting for 8 years with this company doing nothing but P&C insurance. I am contemplating starting to sell insurance for an independent agent part time during my free time to supplement my income and to possibly switch to sales full time if it works out and I develop a book to replace my current salary. The agency would also offer options to buy ownership of the agency down the road. My ultimate goal in insurance is to own and run an independent agency.

In my current underwriting position I do not have any sales responsibility at all, just typical underwriting duties. Review applications, review policies after claims, review endorsements, and build relationships with my assigned agents. i am assigned and work a territory that is almost a 1,000 miles from where I currently live and work.

The independent agency I would sell for does not have a contract or represent the company I work for in anyway. The offer for commission splits is extremely competitive and geared towards retention.

What sort of conflict of interest , if any, would this pose? Would this jeopardize my current job?

Thoughts?

What sort of conflict of interest , if any, would this pose? Would this jeopardize my current job?

Yes, it's a conflict of interest. Why? Because it's an outside business activity that is in the same field or industry.

Over 15 years ago, I wanted to get into a business of giving seminars on financial planning and selling books, tapes, software, etc., while I was working at a large national bank. This was before I was insurance and securities licensed.