Three Years Licensed, I Feel Like I'm Just Getting Started

gecko787

I've had my license for three years, although I feel like I'm just getting started honestly now.

A few key points about me:

I know life insurance very well. I know how to explain it. I feel like I develop a pretty good connection with the client when I'm sitting in front of them, and I feel that I do a pretty good job of providing them great service.

My downfalls:

I never learned how to prospect appropriately. Sure, I mention casually to people what it is that I do, but I have yet to fully develop on that past the point of "oh ok" with almost everybody. I have been able to close a handful within my circle of acquaintances, but there are several more, and I have no idea how to approach them. My "warm" market is pretty much untouched because I have yet to reach out to 80% of them and talk to them straight up about life insurance.

I'd like to find out from some of these seasoned vets on here how it is that I should go about tapping into those I know.

Another downfall, I am scared of the phone. Sure, I make phone calls, and I feel ok doing them, but every time I pick it up, I get anxious, and I know that shows because I have not closed a single sale over the phone. Scratch that. I have closed, but the policies never get placed in force, and once I hang up with them, it's almost impossible to get them back on the phone. They don't get the exams done, they all of a sudden have someone who offered them something better, etc, etc.

I know there are more things wrong with my approach, and I am willing to fix them. But I know those are the two that are hurting me the most. If any of the gurus on here can shed some light on how I can cure these ailments, it would all be greatly appreciated.