Thrown Out of a DSNPs Home

Northeast Agent

Guru
1000 Post Club
Pennsylvania
I'm a relatively new independent agent (was captive at a call center for a while) and haven't had much success with the T65 MA market. I decided to try the DSNP market, did a mailer and have received a good response so far.

Earlier this week I went to a beneficiary's apartment in a low-income neighborhood. On the phone a couple of days earlier I sensed that she was a little "off," but I went on the appointment. Right away she began telling me that she had mental problems, ADHD, etc. She wanted the plan that her neighbor has as it's a very strong plan, etc. I told her I needed to confirm what level of Medicaid she has before I could determine if this plan would be accepted by her hospital, doctors, etc. I called to check her eligibility and learned that she's only partial Medicaid so this plan wouldn't accept her. When I told her this, she went berserk, screaming, cursing, turning red in the face, etc before ordering me out as I had "upset her, like everyone else!" I was stunned and scared (I'm female) and tried calming her down, to no avail. She told me to get out, before she went crazy!

As I hurried out and and started down the street, she then began apologizing profusely then told me she had a rottweiler in her bedroom who she had rescued off the street two weeks before.

Lesson learned: I need to create a checklist of questions to ask before I go out in the field to check their Medicaid status, what hospital, drs they go to, etc. If they are partial then I'll ask them to apply for full Medicaid and let me know if they get so I don't waste my time again. There are several SNPs in my area but this one is very benefits rich.

Selling Med Supps by phone and doing educational seminars are sounding really good after that episode.

I guess I will start the reply platitudes you can expect here.
It's good to get your nose bloodied early so you know you can take it.