To Be or Not To Be

Agent Buck

Hello all,

*Disclaimer: this is a long post and there are cliff's notes at the bottom*

I'm a fresh college grad who's done a ton of interviewing in the Chicago are since I've been out. My first job offer was from Banker's Life and Casualty at the beginning of August. I searched their name on this site and found less than pleasing but valuable opinions of them. The branch manager sent me an offer letter outlining a path of Agent to Field Training Manager within the next four months. I accepted the offer after a few days deliberation, attracted by the proposed notion of $55K+ my first year and $100K+ by my third year. I have since taken all prelicensing classes and tests and sent my application to the commissioner's office.

However, I was recently offered a job with a medical supply company as a Buyer/Planner with a salary of $39K with available bonuses and much room for promotion which I turned down. They contacted me again today offering to increase the salary and haven't yet gotten back to me with a new figure. I liked the company when I interviewed with them and I think the job itself is better suited to my personality but the lure of the almighty dollar keeps me leaning toward insurance sales. However, I can't afford to chase policies with nosuccess while Citibank is knocking at my door.