To stay independent or do I...

msinsagent

Good afternoon all this will be my first post, however I have been reading on this forum for the past several months, first off let me tell you guys a little about myself

I am a 32 year old male, I specialize in life insurance, annuties, LTC, Med supps and Medicare Advantage. I have been an independent agent for since 2003, I am from the Memphis,TN area.

I have recently been approached by an old friend if I would be interested in being a branch manager for Senior Solutions. My position would involve no selling, just the typical managerial and recruiting aspects. I have already interviewed with district and regional officers, and told them If I accept I will not cancel my current companies and lose my book of business and residual income. They have given me in writing they will accept that request.

So, give me your thoughts.

You have been independent for 5 years. That is enough time to get "over the hump" and prove you can make it.

What is drawing you into the world of working for someone else?

I had a similar deal offered to me, but...

I was allowed to keep my appts and book of business but I had to write any new business with the the UA companies. Though I didn't have to sell, I had to find people to sell for me so I could have an income. They offer startup money and incentives but it is all against future commissions, ect. I didnt take any of their money because of the strings attached.

I did have an agreement to be released if I decided it wasnt for me, it wasn't and I was immediately released. I then was able to immediately be appt to one of their MA companies through an FMO with no problems.

Unless you are going to work in an established office that is fairly busy and successfull, I assume you are being sold on starting your own office. Their system is MLM and the commissions are not as high as you are used to.