Top Producing Captive Agent Vs. Independent?

JoeInsGuy

Expert
Hey All.

As some of you may or may not know, I am currently a captive agent at a good company. I enjoy being captive for now and had a question in regards to income.

Say that you are a captive agent placing about 500 policies/yr. This includes bonuses and commissions making $X.... Amount/Yr. This also includes renewals and conservation pay.

Also note that This income is 99% Life Insurance.

What would you make as an independent agent in income/ yr assuming that the avg. policy size you place is $650 in premium and you have a pretty good mix of Whole Life vs. Term working with the middle income market?

I'm not sure if this is enough information. So if you need more let me know! I'm just curious to see what an independent might make vs. captive.

Joe

As an Indie you can expect to make at least 100% of the annualized commission for term policies. Note that there is limited, if any renewal on term plans as an indie.

I don't do WOL so cannot comment on that.

Joe, you can create a hypothetical scenario that will favor either situation, so trying to look at this with a microscope will not give you a definitive answer. So the equation looks like this:

Indy Commissions and pay all your overhead and benefits versus Captive Commissions plus benefits, office, etc.

There's group medical and dental, social security matching, defined benefit pension, 401(k) match, office, staff, clerical, technology, are your renewals vested, etc.

You may not be getting all those things, but you have to put a value on the benefits you're getting and then do the math. If I've said it once I've said it a thousand times... the perceived difference in money should be the LAST reason to switch.

Hi Thanks for your response.

I am not looking to switch. I am enjoying myself, I actually train the agents that come on board with us and prepare them for this career.