Tough Employment Decision

ncagent83

Expert
I have been working at an agency for almost two months now working as an account manager. I've got a degree in RMI and an commercial underwriting opportunity came up that would pay nearly $20K more a year. I'd like to think of myself as a loyal person but when an opportunity comes up like this, it's hard not to consider. I applied for the job to see what the outcome would be.

I have a chance to own the business that I work for in the next five to ten years. They picked me up as soon as I got out of school and have been good to me. I don't know what would be the best option: stay for the long haul, or a quick raise in salary and responsibility while potentially burn bridges.

What would you do?

I have been working at an agency for almost two months now working as an account manager. I've got a degree in RMI and an commercial underwriting opportunity came up that would pay nearly $20K more a year. I'd like to think of myself as a loyal person but when an opportunity comes up like this, it's hard not to consider. I applied for the job to see what the outcome would be. I have a chance to own the business that I work for in the next five to ten years. They picked me up as soon as I got out of school and have been good to me. I don't know what would be the best option: stay for the long haul, or a quick raise in salary and responsibility while potentially burn bridges. What would you do?

In your current position, do you have a contract in place to buy the business? If not, then I'd get one...if they won't commit to that then you have your answer.

Even having a contract isn't a guarantee that you'll end up with business, I speak from experience.

In your current position, do you have a contract in place to buy the business? If not, then I'd get one...if they won't commit to that then you have your answer.

Even having a contract isn't a guarantee that you'll end up with business, I speak from experience.