Tough Times

Bwell86

Expert
I've been doing pretty well for the past two years, but I seem to have hit a wall. I had a good sized case about a month ago, but haven't been able to uncover much since then. In the past month I've written a handful of term policies, but I'm seeing bills coming up in the horizon.

I feel like I'm in a slump. I know activity is the solution, but I feel like I've been spinning my tires lately. What do you all do to get out of periods of funk?

Are you a hunter or trapper? A hunter eats off his last kill until it's gone. When he gets hungry, he has to go out and kill something again. Reactive.

A trapper has traps in place that are always working to trap his next meal. He has to manage the traps, but the traps are working in one place while he's setting traps in another place. Proactive.

My point is do you have a workable process that you're following? A complete system will identify prospects (referrals, personal observation, etc), help you make contact and ask for the appointment, find out what they want, present your solution, close the case, and get introduced to people they know (referrals).

2-3 years in a lot if agents hit a wall because they have burned through their friends, family, contacts, and acquaintances. You have to figure out how to change this.

I've been doing pretty well for the past two years, but I seem to have hit a wall. I had a good sized case about a month ago, but haven't been able to uncover much since then. In the past month I've written a handful of term policies, but I'm seeing bills coming up in the horizon.

I feel like I'm in a slump. I know activity is the solution, but I feel like I've been spinning my tires lately. What do you all do to get out of periods of funk?

Are you doing anything differently than you were before...if you are, it must not be working. Sometimes we make things more complicated than need to be. Maybe it's time to "get back to the basics".