TransAmerica or Northwestern Mutual?

Mah

Super Genius
I have interview with both companies on Thursday. I would so appreciate if you could share with me any information or questions I should ask. I'm new to the insurance/financial advising industry, but its my passion to thrive in this industry.

Thank you very much for your time and information in advance.

I have interview with both companies on Thursday. I would so appreciate if you could share with me any information or questions I should ask. I'm new to the insurance/financial advising industry, but its my passion to thrive in this industry.

Thank you very much for your time and information in advance.

NWML is a good solid old line career company with good training. However, too captive and starchy for my tastes. I do not know anything about Transamerica.

Last edited:
Northwestern Mutual is quite arguably the most solid company in the industry. They have been ranked every year as one of Fortune Magazine's World's Most Admired-consistently leading their industry in terms of Quality of Products and Services; They have the highest financial strength ratings by all four major rating companies (every year they have ever run their surveys) and they are a mutual company that has been around for over 150 years.

Even measuring in just dividends alone they broke an industry record this past year-paying their policy owners a little over 5 billion in dividends-they're next nearest competitor (Not TransAmerica) payed 1.7... that's a pretty huge gap.

Honestly I've explored the industry for myself and I was unable to find people as passionate about and as solid as Northwestern Mutual, plus they pour about $100,000 into training you in your first two years, most other companies just throw you out there.