Tree House Coverage (Pics Included)

smg44

Very recently a customer who built a tree house in southwest Missouri came into my office seeking coverage on it. It was built this year, and it has electricity, running water and a forced air electric climate control system. It was very nicely built.I am having a terrible time trying to find a carrier that would insure him, here in Missouri. In fact, every time I call an underwriter I get a long hearty laugh, followed by a "let me look at the manual" followed by "Good Luck!" He rents his home so I can't list it as another location on his homeowners policy. Does anyone have any ideas?

IMG_4011.JPG IMG_4078.JPG

Attachments

• ACORD_27_2016-03.pdf
    126 KB · Views: 1
  • Certificate+Of+Liability+Insurance+(ACORD+25) (1) (1).pdf
    248.2 KB · Views: 1
Hi ... I am also an insurance agent myself and thinking wouldn't "other structures" of that properties policy cover that treehouse? The Homeowners policies I create recognize that coverage to protect any structures not attached to the home, including sheds and so forth.

Great structure though ... a lot of creativity. All I had as a child was Big Wheel. Ha Ha

Enjoy your day sir.

RV

Unfortunately RV, it is the only structure on the property and technically its the only structure he owns.

It is pretty neat tree house, my dad started to build me one when I was a kid but it ended up being a shed (: |)

Him and his wife own the lot, but there is no other structure on the lot. The house he rents is outside of Kansas City (about 150 miles north of the tree house)

Yeah, I figured that out after calling my contact at our Insurance Alliance. I have submitted the risk to a brokerage. Thank you do much though, that will help in the future. Occasionally I get some eccentric individuals. They are all nice people, they just do things a bit differently.

I once got this question from a Wyoming agent:

"How do you calculate the replacement cost for an earth home?"

My response: