Trouble....???

TonyC

Guru
100+ Post Club
Hi Gang.

I'm a newly licensed agent and am interviewing with different (health) insurance brokers. Some of these seem to be less than ethical in their business practices.

What are some of the Biggest (or most common) Items that can get you into trouble with the Insuance Commission or State Regulators ?

I just got licensed and want to do the right thing...

Thanks in advance....

Last edited:
This question could take days to answer. 98% plus of agents are good ethical people. With that being said, you are dealing with a complex product that your customers have a hard time understanding. People also practice selective listening.

But, I think this is sort of odd question? Are you worried about having problems with the DOI? Most agents never have a problem with the DOI.
Some have some E & O claims along the way, but the DOI doesn't get involved unless there is fraud or missing money. And if either of those two are present, you have no E & O coverage anyway.

Here is how to have a trouble free career.

1. Learn your product.
2. When you are in front of your clients and you don't know the answer, tell them I don't know, but I will find out.
3. Most important, never do or say anything that you will be thinking about when you head hits the pillow.

As far as working for firms, use the smell test. You will know quickly.

Thanks Chkn14,

I'm not worried about fraud or missing money...but i am concerned about agents who encourage their clients to lie.

For example, i spoke to one agent over the phone who said that "he will tell a client, (who smokes and is complaining about his high current insurance bill), to put down on the application that ,he doesn't smoke. He then tells the client that he can't go to the hospital for 1 yr." I guess this somehow avoids a voided contract by a insurance company (sigh).
:sad: