Unhappy Captive Agent

Shmegegi

It's like I'm banging my head against a wall, and it feels about as productive.

About a month ago, I signed on with Farmers Insurance as a captive agent. I've no background in sales, and my last job was submitting health applications. It wasn't their first time contacting me, but I was giving it more and more thought as time passed. I wasn't happy with my job--no authority, no privacy, no autonomy, just a grunt making $14/hour who took the brunt of my bosses frustrations--and I wanted to be more...independent. Chatted it over with the fiancé, and we decided, well, we're young and broke anyway; maybe this way when we're not young, we won't be broke, either.

It's already lost its glamour.

The DMs idea of lead generation is Project 200, and I'm gathering from these forums that it's not a unique idea. The issue is that I don't have any living family. I have kept my friends close, but sans family, my Project 200 was looking a little...bare.

What they want me to do is harass my friends about buying insurance--calling them repeatedly, sending out mailers, treating them like any other lead--but I'm against it. I've spoken to all of them about my new agency and what I'm setting myself up for, and they're kind of interested, but I'm not going to spam them with calls multiple times a day.