United Healthcare - Secure Horizons ?

Yort23

NC
Hello all,

Wondering if anyone has any info on company and/or Secure Horizons division for Medicare? I am a newbie and have an interview setup with them next week in Raleigh, NC and wanted to see if anybody had any thoughts or advice? I was looking into going Indy but many people on this board suggest starting out captive first to "get my feet wet".

Also, I have never been on an interview with an insurance company before and would love some advice as to what questions to ask and what pitfalls to look for.

Thanks for any help that you may provide. :D

After you cover the standard questions about commissions, advances and chargebacks this a good question to ask:

"If I'm hired can you walk me through what my day will be like from 9am to when I'm done?"

I asked this when I joined a captive outfit and it was clear that I was responsible for calling and setting my own appointments. Not a problem - just wanted to know what was expected.

Also ask them to work it backwards for you. Say you need to make $1,000 a week. Tell them to outline how you would achive that. For example, if you asked me to "work it backward" to make $1,000 a week I'd say:

Ok, average premium is $3,500 and you're at 15% for $525 per deal. You'd need to cold-call biz owners generating 2 leads an hour and closing 1 out of 15. You need 2 deals per week to make $1,000 so you need 30 leads and 15 hours of telemarketing.

So now you know what's entailed. You also know if it's possible to attain what you need to make. Let's say you wanted to make $2,500 a week and asked me to work it backwards:

That's 5 deals a week - 75 leads needed and 37 hours of calls. Can that be done? Nope.

Thanks John. Just curious. What kind of money can you make as a captive Senior Market sales guy? What is a reasonable amount to shoot for (or ask in the interview) on a weekly basis? thanks.