Variable Vs Index Annuities

AlTheGud1sRtakn

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I've got a fair amount of knowledge about VAs, but I've never used an Index Annuity before. Got a call from a wholesaler the other day that piqued my interest and he sent me some info, but it's more a brief overview. I dug around on here and online and the consensus seems to be you can get higher guaranteed roll-up values with lower fees with IAs than VAs, the few IAs I've looked at seem to back up the first statement but fall FAR short of the second, especially when you look at some of their crappy cap rates. I hear many have crap participation rates as well, but the ones I've looked at seem good.

Is there something out there that I really need to take a look at or am I doing my math right? My googleing makes me think I need to dig deeper. Common sense and what I've seen so far tells me that they have their place but there's no free lunch and that the VAs I've sold were still the best fit for the particular situation.

I've got a fair amount of knowledge about VAs, but I've never used an Index Annuity before. Got a call from a wholesaler the other day that piqued my interest and he sent me some info, but it's more a brief overview. I dug around on here and online and the consensus seems to be you can get higher guaranteed roll-up values with lower fees with IAs than VAs, the few IAs I've looked at seem to back up the first statement but fall FAR short of the second, especially when you look at some of their crappy cap rates. I hear many have crap participation rates as well, but the ones I've looked at seem good.

Is there something out there that I really need to take a look at or am I doing my math right? My googleing makes me think I need to dig deeper. Common sense and what I've seen so far tells me that they have their place but there's no free lunch and that the VAs I've sold were still the best fit for the particular situation.