Very new to FE, Three questions.

hitch

Hi, I'm an under 1 year agent for a non captive firm. I was just contracted in January and have sold around $20k in AP. I'm thoroughly excited about the firm I work for. Our prospecting method is heavily through referrals, which I find to be pretty efficient.

That being said, as I was looking to supplement my time with leads to be more productive, I came across this whole thing of final expense, and final expense leads...seems like it's nothing more than cheap whole life? My current contracted company has a minimum of 25k whole life, that seems like it's on the high side for FE.

My primary question is around commission structure. I see around the forums mentioned around 110%-130% on avg. What is this % on? Is it on the annual premium? So if the AP is $500, is the commission 1.1 x $500 or $550? Then are the renewals around (AVG) 5% so .05% 500 = $25?

I'm currently paid 75% (or so) of AP, so I'm finding it difficult to understand/believe in FE you would get paid more than the first year premium..?

Second question:
How long does it typically take to get contracted with a FE company? Gerber, Assurity, etc. If you had to pick a top 5 that are goto companies that can satisfy most of your clients, which would those be? What is the processes like to get contracted? I'm currently Life/Health/LTC in multiple states and have E&O.

Thank you!

Sorry, I don't see how to edit the body of the post, only the title.

My THIRD question is, does telesales without F2F work with FE? Most of my business right now is over the phone or screen share for some more advanced folks.

Just seems like tele sales would be a little more efficient, instead of spending hours in the car running around a 50mi radius, you could be on the phone closing business.

Just curious!

Thanks a ton!

In reverse order. Telesales works with FE, sort of. I don't think it would work part time. The only people I know making it work work at it very full time.