Voicemails... Do You Leave One? What's Your Script?

Hello. I'm a fairly new agent with Mutual of Omaha in Atlanta. I've been having some decent success setting appointments. I think my phone rapport is pretty good, but I have run into one problem; voicemails...

I'm not sure if it's my script, or if it's just that people don't return cold calls from voicemails. I'm fighting myself on if I should just not even leave a voicemail so the next time I call the suspect thinks "Hmm...there's that local number again, I wonder who it is...".

I'm finding that when I leave voicemails, that I have a much lower success of ever reaching the suspect after that. So I'm sure you guys are wondering what my script is. It's something along the lines of this...

"Hello Mr./Mrs. X, this is Stephen at Mutual of Omaha. I was calling in regards to your X insurance inquiry. I work not too far down the road from you, so I'd be more than glad to sit down with you and show you your options some time when it's convenient. You can reach me at XXX-XXXX-XXXX. Thank you much and have a great day!"

Thoughts/Mocks?

Your link was broken. I did search for "voicemail" and "voicemails" and no results showed. I did another search for "leave message" and found some results, but mostly they were on how to leave a voicemail, instead of if it is even a good idea to leave one.

I do make a point to anunciate and slowly give my contact information, but I'm wondering if it is even wise to leave a voicemail. Maybe my script just sucks...

Maybe my script just sucks...

I think you're on to something.

Let's think about this a second...do you think that the people that you leave a message for can't live another day without calling someone back to arrange a time for an insurance agent to come over and try to ram a policy home?