Walk and Talk Instead of Calling?

ydnar723

I am fairly new to the insurance business, I will be working with Health and Life.
The company I am appointed by has suggested cold calling...I am not a fan of it, probably because I always don't like a cold call, especially when I am in the middle of a thought. I learned I make zero appointments on the cold call no matter what script or method I use suggested to me when I call and tend to get interupted and hung up by the person I call, even had one person who hung up on me after I no more then said "Hi my name is.."

I feel I am a good people person, but perhaps cold calling is not my venture.

I did dig up in some material in the office about walking and talking, the problem I had with it is I am not "getting my foot in the door" it only recommends I Introduce myself, ask to leave a business card and walk away.
I don't think that gives anyone any idea of what I really do and why I am coming to you to begin with, I have a purpose, but I don't think with a script so simple I am telling you what my purpose is.

I was looking around and hoping someone could help with any ideas with this method and if people found themselves more sucessful then cold calling.

What do you say when you walk into a business? (right now my focus is small business owners, typically sole owner or up to 5 employees)

I was thinking of asking for the owner, but I don't want to be classified as rude.
I was hoping to go the receptionist (if there is one) and introduce myself, explain that I specialize in Health and Life insurance and would like to leave my contact information and some information for those interested in purchasing or supplimenting an existing policy with the person in charge of benefits. Perhaps when I give the information ask if I can follow up with a phone call to the person this information will be left with in the next couple of days and ask for that persons contact info.