Website Design Frustrations: Disputed the Charge: How Should I Deal with the Situation ?

CALTCAgent

Guru
1000 Post Club
Hello,

I am a novice still at website design and online marketing. A bit technically challenged too, lol.

Sorry about the long post, I tried to shorten it as much as possible.

Here is the situation:

I decide to proceed with the website after talking to "Jason" the website design sales guy. This company had good ratings on Yelp. I wonder about if they are all legit now. Didn't see 1 bad rating.

On 12/31/15. I give the initial deposit of $250. The charge goes through paypal and then charges my credit card company. This was the initial deposit and the site would be $500 total, another $250 at completion.

Granted not a lot of money, but he said he was giving me a great deal. He felt there would be more potential as I needed more services. I feel I didn't have too high of expectations and the site and process did not meet my expectations.

I talked about another experience I had with a website designer and we agreed that if after 5 "build" days of the site, I could cancel for a full refund. This was so I could see how the process went and if I was satisfied with it.

He wanted 5 business days and we decided on 5 build days. Glad I didn't do 5 business days as he didn't call me for I believe a week after the initial deposit. That was only after an e-mail from me asking where things were at.

He said initially that the site would be completed after 5 business days. I guess that changed after I clarified and we went to the "build days". Because in retrospect, no site was complete after 5 business days.

He said we would agree after each "build" day as to proceed. That way I knew where we were at. He assured me there would be no jumping ahead on days. Total build days would be 8 according to him.