Websites and Marketing

MN Guy

Hello Everyone

I'm thinking about investing in a website to help market myself and my agency. I have a lot of questions, but will try to limit them:)

1. Is paying 499 to build your website that gives you I beleive 60 pages a good deal, and then paying a monthly charge of 40 bucks per month for hosting, website updates and website licency fee?

2. Once I get this built I've heard the sky is the limit to pay to bring traffic to you site, and you should be able to convert 20 to 30% to sales. The cost to bring this traffic to your website will cost around 500 to 800 dollars per month. Do these numbes sound right?

What are some of you agents out there doing to get traffic to your website. I'm very new to this online marketng, so if I'm going to do this, I want to do it the right way the first time.

I'v heard that 80% of people looking for insurance go to the web first to do there research, which makes total sense as I do the same.

Are you paying a online marketing company to bring you traffic, and if you are, is 100% of your marketing dollars going twords this?

I currently hold a P & C and Life license

Thanks for your help

Monty

60 pages on a website? WTF
only converting 20% of people that come to your website, AWFUL, but depends on what your offering

IMO you will die a slow painful death if you plan on generating traffic via ppc. As a new player without much content, you pay through the nose for keywords or placement. Then you have a tweak your site to optimize conversions. I would also double check your seo/website person and make sure they check out. That industry has exploded lately with everyone touting their services for a monthly fee.

I've had a website for 2 years that cost about $3,000 counting everything and I try to update the blog and content consistently with relevant keywords. It hasn't been a grand slam, but I have generated 80 or so sales from it in 2 years so I've been pleased.