...What am i Missing?

TonyC

Guru
100+ Post Club
Forgive me for my naivety....but i hear news that some people sell 20-30 individual health policies a mth...!

Now...i am a beginner...but i was thinking...How can you do this "when you need a physical exam...or blood work?

What am i missing?

Last edited:
It's just the pipline - step 1, get them started, step 2, process, step 3 repeat steps 1 and 2

My Wife started to sell individual health a while back. She thought the same thing. That old "pipeline" or funnel is the key.

It's slow in the beginning but if you are steady in your marketing it pays off.

I think thats why when we see new people come here and say " I'am financialy straped but will be going into insurance" we wince abit. Having a financial burden and starting in this biz can be very tuff. For some it is a driving force for others a sure path to despair.

Any how take some time and read the many threads here on marketing there are some great posts full of quality info.

Forgive me for my naivety....but i hear news that some people sell 20-30 individual health policies a mth...!
or in a day :-)

You get out what you put in. Think assembly line. I had the good or bad experience of working assembly lines in my blue collar days. A lot of agents think they can put in $200 or $500 and get 100 apps/mo - I can assure you this is not any more possible than the assembly line requiring raw materials for finished products.

The key is growing as your wallet allows you to do so.

If your carriers are requiring physicals or APS more than 1% of the time you are pushing the wrong carrier or do not understand your underwriting guidelines. This is VERY VERY rare in my business to get blood or physical requirements. APS sometimes.

Here is the solution WHEN / IF this happens - sell them a 30,60, 90 day TEMP policy and push the effective date of the long term back - protects them ASAP gives them IMMEDIATE catastrophic coverage while in underwriting.