What Company Are You With?

May 18, 2016

1. AboutThatLife

AboutThatLife Guru

For people who say "I'm with Senior Services/Senior Benefits of [state]" is that actually the name of your company or can you just say you're with whoever? I hear this alot.

2. siskaban

siskaban New Member

iam with Generali Indonesia

siskaban, May 18, 2016
  3. Newby

Newby Guru

State:
    Indiana
    Just register your agency name as a dba with your state attorney generals office. If you are using your own actual name, you don't need to do that.

Newby, May 19, 2016
  4. vic120

vic120 Guru

State:
    Tennessee
    I with all the top companies,as an independent agent I work for you

vic120, May 19, 2016
  5. ModernInsurance

ModernInsurance Super Genius

Nice pitch, vic!

6. AboutThatLife

AboutThatLife Guru

Technically as an independent agent you work for the insurance company. I say something like this because I haven't found anything better to say, but in my experience most people who ask this are just looking for a reason to say "no".

7. scagnt83

scagnt83 Worldwide Expert of Everything

State:
    South Carolina
    If someone is asking what company you are with they are giving you a chance... if you already think they are looking for a reason to say no then you will most certainly hear the word no. Vic's response was perfect if you actually want to gain a client when someone asks you that question.

And your first sentence is absolutely not true. Both the carrier and the IRS would strongly disagree.

I own my own business. My business is able to provide policies from all of the top carriers in the market.

I am a 1099 contract "worker", meaning that my business entity provides a 3rd party service to the carrier and in turn they pay my business entity for that service.

The person I work for is myself and my clients. I say so, the insurance carrier says so, and the IRS/Feds say so.