What is Expected of Producers?

goffintoo

Hi,

I am new to insurance. I started as a telemarketer for my agent, who then signed me up for an online licensing course. I passed my test, got my P&C license, and have been selling now for 4 months. Total time is 1 year in insurance in sept.

I get paid a base salary plus commission. She gave me 3 months to reach my numbers. I've never yet met my full number, though the 1st 2 months I did go past the starting numbers.

I get cold call lists, trigger lists and some requote lists. Most I sell is when I grab the phone and get incoming sales. Once in a while she'll pass me a transfer in. I also try to cross sell quite a bit, have had a little luck with it.

We also have a producer on salary who does much of the transfer ins, and larger deals, which I feel is fine for now, as they're often complicated and I don't feel knowledgeable enough yet.

My agent says I'm doing fine, but if I don't make the numbers, I don't get paid commission, so I'm not doing fine. Not getting paid commission started this month, she let me slide the first 3 months.

How do new producers manage to make those numbers? In the 4 months I've selling I did about 12,400 for 3 of the months, and under 9,000 one of them. All of these numbers were a fail in meeting my quota.

Do we need to buy our own leads? Are there better leads than cold calling and trigger lists?

I also find it very hard reaching people when I cold call. No answers means no sales, and so few answer.

I am very frustrated.

Any ideas that could help me? I am ambitious, but still have so much to learn, I still don't know the ins and out of all of our policies.

I'm willing to do whatever it takes to make my numbers.

Oh, and if it helps my numbers are 275 points each month.

rent/indem auto/landlord/condo/etc =5 points
standard auto =10 points
home =15 points

The highest I've done is 255, and that was last month.
It equaled a little over 12,000 in sales.