What is Maintained by Insured

Im an agent just want to be able to explain the difference in classification code for risk types to clients.

Trying to come up with a good definition and a right definition.

Like lessor risk maintained by insured or less risk not maintained by insured...

You've lost me. Where is this coming from? Maintained by insured is used in a lot of different contexts. Give me a class code as an example....

Sorry, don't understand the question. Maybe I just need more coffee this morning!!!!

Dan

Does the company that you sell those types of product give you an agent guide on that product ?

Is it possible that its a rural property not maintained or serviced by any fire department?

Mark - This relates to every commercial policy out there. The question, if I understand correctly, really isn't as much an insurance question as it is an ISO/OSHA question and how it relates to commercial insurance.

This is the stuff that everyone who writes commercial gets bogged down in. It sounds so simple when someone tells you how to do it and runs through a few 'test' cases. Never works easy in real life.

Dan

Building or Premises- bank or office mercantile or
manufacturer (Lessor's Risk Only)- Maintained by the insured-
Other than Not for Profit

Building or Premises- bank or office mercantile or
manufacturer (Lessor's Risk Only)- Other than Not for Profit

Here is an example of the class codes. They offer different premium rates. I'm trying to figure out what exactly is "maintained by the insured"

Could it be the clean up/maintainace (of electrical, maybe something hanging over the building and cause a GL claim) is done by the insured?

I think its as simple as who is responsible for the maintainence of the building, the insured or someone else?

This would probably be more of an issue in an office condo complex, where the association might be responsible for overall building maintainence, not the owner/insured.