What NOT to Do as a New Agent Getting Started

InsuranceBenefitsGroup

Guru
100+ Post Club
TX
Don't join a PAID association :arghh:

I have been an Independant Agent for several years and make well into the six figures, as I don't mean to brag. My initial start and stepping stone was with a Captive Company. I suggest all new agents use this channel initially. A new agent should sponge up all they can while with the Captive. You'll be trained in person, run face to face appointments, and learn the most important part of this job -HOW TO SELL. Which brings us to this "association".

If the association guy wanted to continue to offer free advice and insight, (for which this board was created) I would applaud the effort. Now it's become a $ thing.

This forum was created to be a resource, not a commerical recruiting station.

Do you want to pay $ to take in a webinar and to hear some rhetoric?

Take my advice: join the Captive Company -be captive for a little while, learn how to sell, then go out on your own as an independent. If you start as an independent without hands on, local (in person) training -you will fail. There is one exception to this rule -The Silver Tongue.

If you have this gift, you can sell ketchup popsicles to people in white gloves, and ice to eskimoes, etc.

If you're already Captive and making the move over, just read this board. There is a plethora of solid information and agents willing to help, including myself. There's no need to pay for anything.

The peanut gallery here will surely have something to say about this post, as several are just minions that'll chime in with some dramatic, knee-jerk jabs.

This is a great business if you know how to sell. Selling is an art, the rest just falls into place.

Best of luck to you all!;)

Last edited: