What's a New Guy to Do?

I've been reading and researching on here and other places on the net and find it a little discouraging at times. I know what i want to do as a career and not necessarily looking to make a "killing" in the insurance industry. I was a Pastor for 2 years as well as an Associate Pastor for two years prior to that along with working as a youth minister. That said, I have a helpers heart and want to help people.

Being new to the insurance industry, I want to research and make an informed decision about who I want to work with. But it seems that the ONLY job prospects I am getting are from those that most on here are calling MLM's and rip-off's for agents or producers. I'm talking about NAA, AFLAC, BL&C and others of this ilk.

My question then is this. What's a new agent or producer to do when the only "prospect's" they are getting are from companies like these? It seems to me that unless you already know someone in the business that wants to help you, which is few, far and between, how do you get a foot in the door?

I know, go to local independent agents and do walk-in's. I've done that and everyone that I've been in so far say they have no room.

It gets frustrating and makes you think this is the good-ole-buddy network and unless you are in the circle, you're screwed.

Oh, and trying to research on here at times gets frustrating too because you have to weed through pages and pages of bickering before you can find anything relevant. So I like when a noob get's on here and asks a question, the answer is to do a search. Well, that search more times than not, returns pages of rants between agents about how much more the other knows than the other.

All I want is a chance. I'm confident and have a diverse background that makes me a great candidate to not only help out a local agent but also become a great agent myself. This is what I want to do but seems like all I'm doing is spinning my wheels in mud sometimes.