When is a sale, not a sale?

G

Being a health sales trainer I speak to many agents, and there are far too many that get stuck on the definition of a “sale.”

It goes like this: "I have 5 sales this week"

Then they say that 2 of the sales are appointments and 3 are people calling them back.

Translation: You have zero sales!

I know I’m Mr. Reality Check, but that’s the only check you’re going to be cashing with that “sale” mindset.

Do not set yourself up for disappointment.

You should know that those "5 sales" may end up being just one, two or maybe three at the most. Sometimes you won't close any. But rarely, if ever, will you get 5 out of 5. Unless you’re really a Jedi at qualifying the customer and eliminating the competition, or you decide to camp out in front of their home until they buy. ; )~

Also, when you think you have those 5 sales, you tend to relax a little bit, then when they don't materialize as expected, you try to catch up at the end of the week, month or year to reach your quota or goals.

You can’t run a business on potential.

A “sale” is a submitted policy and even then, it still has to be issued in order for you to get paid.

I use a two column chart that I update monthly: One column has submitted polices, one has issued policies. As long as I keep submitting, I’ll continue to have issued policies.

That's the sale that matters.

Nice Rob....

I was trained 18 years ago at Northwestern Mutual on the Al Granum "One Card System". That system was perfect for my personality and selling style. It made me track my activity (on a daily basis) using a point system. I have become a huge numbers guy.

It is probably one of the best programs for new agents because you don't really focus on the sales count. Sure the sales numbers are in there. But the focus is more on how you got to that end.