When will umbrella policy kick in?

Danny Yang

Hi folks,

I'm new to insurance and have searched online to acquire some basic understanding of Umbrella policy.

I was approached by my Farmer's Insurance agent about purchasing an Umbrella policy for my property. I think that's a good way to increase liability coverage, and am pretty excited to learn about it. But I have concerns if there are cases that the insurance company won't pay for it when there's a claim against me for example. (maybe I was affected by movies / rumors about how insurance companies trying hard not to pay).

So my questions are:

1. If an accident happens near the property, and the owner is determined to be responsible / at fault, will Umbrella policy guarantee payments? I'm not talking about that the owner of the property intentionally committed a crime or hurting people. But for cases like, uneven sidewalk / driveway so a neighbor fell and hurt himself. Or for example a fallen tree (tree branch) that hit a neighbor, and it's determined to be the property owner's responsibility

2. In general what would be the cases that the Umbrella insurance denies to pay?

Thanks

Nobody likes writing a Million dollar payout, but insurance companies do it every day. It is what they get paid premium $$$$ for.

All umbrellas have exclusions to them but generally speaking, they cover what the homeowners and auto policies cover for liability. In some cases, the coverage of an umbrella policy is a bit broader then the underlying policies.

The thing to keep in mind about umbrellas is they cover over the top of the home / auto policies (for personal umbrellas, which I assume you are asking about), they don't replace them. If your home policy lapses and you have an attachment point of $300,000 to the home policy, you would be liable for the first $300,000 in loss, the umbrella above that to the limit of the umbrella. Of course, if your home policy is in force, then it covers that first $300K.