Which Business Address To Use

jmrsjmrs

I'm at odds as to my business address...any suggestions?

I am a captive agent working for an agency located in a large city about 60 miles from where I most frequently do business. I placed an ad in a publication that goes out to seniors, and have not had any response (19,000 circulation, popular publication with many points of distribution). I suspect that the out of town business address may be the reason. (The ad slick came directly from the insurer, customized with my name, business address and my 800 number. It was a nice looking ad, good benefits list, etc.)

Obviously, I do not want to use my home address for local ads. Would a P.O. Box be just as bad as an out of town address? I fear it may seem too "fly by night".

Has anyone else encountered this situation? Thoughts, anyone?

What is the need for a business address in this ad? Could you just put your web address?

I am not certain as to why you do not want to use your home address. I started up a none insurance business from my home and grew it to almost $500,000 gross revenue before I moved to an office. I don't see a problem with using your home address. If you don't want mail coming to your home you could using your home address in the ad with a P.O. Box. The mail then should get routed to the P.O. Box. However, I don't think the address you use will matter much. I doubt if anyone will mail anything to you. You could probably make up an address or use a friends office address. I don't think those kind of ads rate a very high response.

Last edited:
(The ad slick came directly from the insurer, customized with my name, business address and my 800 number. It was a nice looking ad, good benefits list, etc.)

I think you are missing the point.

It's not about your address, or benefits list. It's not about a "nice looking ad". It's about the totally ineffective marketing pieces (as confirmed by your lack of response) that come from insurance companies.